Murphy Wins Grand Blue Mile and USATF 1 Mile Road Championship With a Course Record

first_img Complete Results Story Links DES MOINES, Iowa — More than 2,500 runners took part in the 8th Annual Grand Blue Mile on April 25 in Downtown Des Moines’ Western Gateway. This year’s event included the prestigious Men’s & Women’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championships along with the Grand Blue Mile’s recreational and competitive divisions and the Mascot Madness Charity Challenge. USATF 1 Mile Road ChampionshipsMore than 35 elite milers from across the country traveled to Des Moines to vie for a national title and a share of the championship prize purse.·         2017 Men’s USATF 1 Mile Road ChampionshipClayton Murphy finished on top out of the 19 men’s competitors, setting a course record with a finish time of 3:59.96. Riley Masters and Pat Casey finished in second and third place, with 4:00.30 and 4:00.88 respective finish times. center_img ·         2017 Women’s USATF 1 Mile Road ChampionshipKatie Mackey finished first in the group of 16 women runners, with a finish time of 4:37.00. Amanda Eccleston and Shannon Rowbury finished in second and third place, with 4:37.36 and 4:37.54 respective finish times. A total of $25,000 in prize money was awarded among the top USATF 1 Mile Road Championship participants, with each men’s and women’s champion receiving $5,000*. The prize breakdown: * An additional $2,500 will be awarded in both the men’s and women’s championships for establishing a new course record.Mascot Madness Charity ChallengeThe Maniac with the Des Moines Menace and Herky from the University of Iowa were the winners of the annual Mascot Madness Charity Challenge and each took home the $1,000 prize for their charitable foundation. The Maniac edged out Billy from the Barnstormers and Rosie the Reader with the Des Moines Public Library in the “fastest” division who finished second and third place, respectively. Herky bested Cy from Iowa State University and TC with the University of Northern Iowa in the “furriest” division who finished second and third, respectively.Men’s USATF Road 1 Mile Results1. Clayton Murphy, 3:59.962. Riley Masters, 4:00.303. Pat Casey, 4:00.884. Garrett Heath, 4:01.385. Brandon Lasater, 4:01.566. Trevor Dunbar, 4:01.937. Izaic Yorks, 4:02.018. Andy Bayer, 4:02.789. Cristian Soratos, 4:04.2710. Hillary Bor, 4:05.4811. Chad Noelle, 4:06.9812. Lex Williams, 4:07.6413. Daniel Herrera, 4:09.9814. Drew Windle, 4:12.0715. Josef Tessema, 4:12.7816. Brian Llamas, 4:13.7317. Patrick Peterson, 4:16.33Women’s USATF Road 1 Mile Results1. Katie Mackey, 4:37.002. Amanda Eccleston, 4:37.363. Shannon Rowbury, 4:37.544. Shannon Osika, 4:37.815. Dana Mecke, 4:39.576. Hannah Fields, 4:41.707. Alexina Wilson, 4:42.068. Ashley Maton, 4:42.749. Meghan Peyton, 4:43.7210. Tori Solis, 4:45.6411. Brette Correy, 4:46.2212. Eleanor Fulton, 4:46.2913. Jamie Cheever, 4:46.7914. Megan Malasarte, 5:07.72The 9th Annual Grand Blue Mile is scheduled to take place on April 24, in conjunction with the 2018 Men’s and Women’s USATF 1 Mile Road Championships.   Additional race results from this and previous Grand Blue Mile events are posted at: Print Friendly Versionlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *